//
you're reading...
Startups

Thank you Hacker News!

Last week on the 14th, I wrote an article about the challenges I faced creating http://www.mixdem.com and posted the link on Hacker News. Within hours the story had been up-voted to the front page, and I did not know about it. Later on during the evening as always, I visited Hacker News, and to my surprise my story was on the front page, been up-voted 100 times and generated 35 comments. It was the most humbling experience of my life, yet at the same time very exciting. I wish to share statics, opportunities, future plans and thank each and every member of the Hacker News for affording me the opportunity to share my story with the whole world.
Statistics:
munyukim.wordpress.com:
• About 17 000 unique visits
mixdem.com
• 6000 unique visits
• 16 000 page views
• 50 registered users
• 700 visitors returned
Future Plans
I intended to develop the application further using the feedback I got; improve the design, add more features, generate content unique to the website .I also intend to monetize the website and hopefully generate enough money to afford my own internet connection or relocate to Harare where internet access is affordable and easily accessible. I will begin working on new projects very soon and hopefully inspire other young people facing the same challenges as me to chase their own dreams.
Conclusion
The story has now been up-voted 186 times, generated 45 comments on Hacker News and got featured on more than five blogs. In a very short space of time, I have gained a lot valuable feedback and advice; build a lot of valuable relationships. Without Hacker News, none of this would have been possible; thank you Hacker News for being such a constructive, democratic and wonderful community.

About Munyuki Manatsa

I am web developer @ http://www.mixdem.com.I like programming in php ,hip hop ,soccer and action movies.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Thank you Hacker News!

  1. Good work bruh… What are you currently working on? (If u dont mind sharing…!)

    Posted by VaRalph | March 1, 2013, 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

